W Series Esports League

In 2020, the W Series Esports League was formed for female drivers only.

Partnering with Logitech G (a global leader in PC and console gaming gear), Beyond Entertainment (a community-driven organisation that specialises in hosting high-calibre tournaments) and iRacing (the leading esports simulation platform), the W Series Esports League began during the summer of 2020, in the current absence of on-track motor racing anywhere in the world.

A brand-new initiative, the W Series Esports League aimed to inaugurate, publicise, promote and empower a shared commitment to raising female sim racing visibility in order to encourage more women and girls everywhere to take up eracing, thereby opening up a new world of equality and diversity in what has previously been seen as a predominantly male-dominated activity.

Missed out on all the 2020 esports action? Visit the official W Series YouTube channel to watch all 10 rounds.

The drivers

Unlike many other sim racing initiatives, the W Series Esports League was contested by women only, and all 18 drivers who qualified to race in the on-track W Series in 2020 as well as special guests took part.

The circuits

The W Series Esports League races was run on 10 of the greatest circuits in the world.

Autodromo Nazionale di Monza Italy
Circuit of the AmericasAustin Texas, United States
Brands Hatch Grand Prix CircuitUnited Kingdom
Autódromo José Carlos PaceInterlagos, Brazil
Circuit de Spa-FrancorchampsBelgium
Watkins Glen International New York, United States
Suzuka International Racing CourseJapan
Mount Panorama CircuitBathurst, Australia
Nürburgring NordschleifeGermany
Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit United Kingdom

The cars

Working closely with Logitech, Beyond Entertainment and iRacing, the W Series Esports League featured digital versions of the Tatuus Formula Renault 2.0 race car, similar in performance to the W Series Tatuus Formula 3 race car, accurately modelled to replicate its looks, performance and driver ‘feel’, thereby creating an innovative state-of-the-art visual spectacle that further blurs the lines between real and virtual.

The racing

W Series Esports League points were awarded in every race. At the end of the W Series Esports League season, the driver who scored the most points was declared the winner of the W Series Esports League title.

Up to three races were run at each of the 10 circuits, of varying lengths/durations, the majority of them conventional races started on grids formed according to normal qualifying sessions, but some of them reverse-grid races started on grids formed in reverse order of current W Series Esports League points standings.

2020 W Series Esports League Standings

Position No Driver Total
1 95 Beitske Visser 439
2 19 Marta Garcia 423
3 51 Irina Sidorkova 331
4 32 Nerea Marti 317
5 31 Tasmin Pepper 305
6 20 Caitlin Wood 303
7 17 Ayla Agren 223
8 22 Belen Garcia 211
9 26 Sarah Moore 202
12 99 Naomi Schiff 161
14 5 Fabienne Wohlwend 145
10 27 Alice Powell 137
11 21 Jessica Hawkins 135
13 44 Abbie Eaton 124
16 7 Emma Kimilainen 121
15 3 Gosia Rdest 101
17 97 Bruna Tomaselli 86
18 37 Sabre Cook 62
19 85 Miki Koyama 53
20 11 Vicky Piria 39
21 55 Jamie Chadwick 18