W Series Drivers Gather for $1.5 Million Prize Fund Presentation

  • W Series drivers and reserve drivers assemble to mark successful first season
  • Championship winner, Jamie Chadwick, received cheque for $500,000
  • Total prize fund of $1.5 million awarded to the 20 drivers

W Series gathered its full line-up of drivers, team and management, on Tuesday to celebrate its successful debut season, and present prizes to each of the 20 drivers.

Leading the award winners was series champion, Jamie Chadwick, from London, who received a cheque for $500,000.  Runner-up, Beitske Visser, from The Netherlands, collected $250,000, and Alice Powell, also from the UK, received $125,000 for third place.  However, cash prizes were awarded to all drivers on the grid, including reserve drivers.

Catherine Bond Muir, CEO of W Series, said:

“This is the culmination of a fabulous debut season, and it gives us so much pleasure to award these cash prizes as we know how important this will be for the careers of these talented young drivers – and especially since many of them will be investing in more racing as a direct result.”

The W Series mission is to encourage more women to enter motorsport with the ultimate aim to see women in the elite racing formulae, including Formula 1.

Jamie Chadwick, W Series 2019 Champion, said:

“This has been a career-changing year for me, and I still can’t quite believe everything that’s happened over the course of a few short months.  The crowning achievement was obviously winning the W Series title against some mega-talented drivers, and I’m not just proud of that, but also proud to lead the charge for women drivers in motorsport generally.  Bring on 2020!”

W Series continues to support the DTM platform in 2020, with an initial six races already confirmed, starting at Igora Drive, St Petersburg, on May 30, and including the famous Monza circuit as well as the newcomer, Andersdorp Circuit, in Sweden, and the classic Brands Hatch circuit in the UK.