W Series Esports League explained

Excited for the brand-new W Series Esports League? Get the lowdown on all you need know for all 10 weeks of esports action.

The drivers

Unlike many other sim-racing initiatives, the W Series Esports League will be contested by women only. Each race will feature drivers from the following list, which includes all 18 drivers who have qualified to race in the on-track W Series races this year:

  • Jamie Chadwick, United Kingdom, 22
  • Beitske Visser, Netherlands, 25
  • Alice Powell, United Kingdom, 27
  • Marta Garcia, Spain, 19
  • Emma Kimilainen, Finland, 30
  • Fabienne Wohlwend, Liechtenstein, 22
  • Miki Koyama, Japan, 22
  • Sarah Moore, United Kingdom, 26
  • Vicky Piria, Italy, 26
  • Tasmin Pepper, South Africa, 29
  • Jessica Hawkins, United Kingdom, 25
  • Sabre Cook, United States, 26
  • Ayla Agren, Norway, 26
  • Abbie Eaton, United Kingdom, 28
  • Belen Garcia, Spain, 20
  • Nerea Marti, Spain, 18
  • Irina Sidorkova, Russia, 16
  • Bruna Tomaselli, Brazil, 22
  • Caitlin Wood, Australia, 23
  • Gosia Rdest, Poland, 27
  • Naomi Schiff, Rwanda, 26

In addition, W Series reserves the right to invite other female drivers to participate in W Series Esports League races on an invitational basis.

The races

The W Series Esports League calendar is as follows:

Date Time Race 
June 1119:00-20:30 BST Autodromo Nazionale di Monza (Italy)
June 18 19:00-20:30 BST Circuit of the Americas, Austin (Texas, USA)
June 25 19:00-20:30 BST Brands Hatch Grand Prix Circuit (UK)
July 2 19:00-20:30 BST Autódromo José Carlos Pace, Interlagos (Brazil)
July 9 19:00-20:30 BST Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps (Belgium)
July 16 19:00-20:30 BST Watkins Glen International (New York, USA)
July 23 19:00-20:30 BST Suzuka International Racing Course (Japan)
July 30 19:00-20:30 BST Mount Panorama Circuit, Bathurst (Australia)
August 6 19:00-20:30 BST Nürburgring Nordschleife (Germany)
August 13 19:00-20:30 BST Silverstone Grand Prix Circuit (UK)

How to watch

The races will be broadcast on BBC iPlayer, BBC Red Button, BBC Sport Website and W Series’ YouTube, Facebook and Twitch channels at 7pm BST each Thursday evening from June 11 to August 13.

The format

Each round will have a maximum of three races and two qualifying sessions, depending on the length of circuit. The format will be as follows:

The starting grid for each reverse grid race will be determined by the finishing positions from race one. During qualifying sessions, should two or more drivers set identical times, priority will be given to the driver who set their time first.

The scoring system

To promote close, fair competition and an authentic ‘League’ feel, W Series Esports League points for each race will be awarded as follows:

  • Race 1: 20-17-15-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 (1st – 15th) & 1 point for fastest lap
  • Race 2: 20-17-15-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 (1st – 15th) & 1 point for fastest lap
  • Race 3: 20-17-15-13-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 (1st – 15th) & 1 point for fastest lap

Every race will count towards a driver’s overall W Series Esports League position. At the end of the W Series Esports League season, the driver who has scored the most points will be declared the winner of the W Series Esports League. If two or more drivers finish the season with the same number of points, the higher place in the W Series Esports League shall be awarded to the driver with the most race wins. If the number of race wins is the same, it will be determined by the number of second place finishes, then third place finishes and so on until a higher-placed driver emerges.

The rules

  • Drivers are allowed three car resets per race.
  • Drivers must re-enter the track safely if they have been off course for any reason.
  • The pit-lane exit is to be respected at all times.
  • If a driver wishes to appeal an incident, video evidence must be submitted to W Series staff, who will enforce penalties where necessary. Appeals must be submitted within 24 hours of the race end.

The cars

Working closely with Logitech G, Beyond Entertainment and iRacing, the W Series Esports League will feature digital versions of the Formula Renault 2.0 race car, similar in performance to the W Series on-track Tatuus Formula 3 race car, accurately modelled to replicate its looks, performance and driver ‘feel’, thereby creating an innovative state-of-the-art visual spectacle that further blurs the lines between real and virtual.

The hardware

In order that all drivers in the W Series Esports League compete on a level playing field, all drivers have been provided with the following identical equipment:

  • Seat: Playseat Evolution Alcantara
  • Wheel and pedals: Logitech G920
  • Headset: Logitech PRO X
  • Keyboard: Logitech G915
  • Webcam: Logitech webcam

The software

The W Series Esports League is using iRacing as its game partner. All W Series Esports League drivers have access to a private W Series lobby, which has the car and circuits pre-loaded.

Visit our Esports league page for more.