Track Length
Friday | Free Practice 1
Friday | Free Practice 2
Saturday | Qualifying
Saturday | Race

Move over two-wheelers, four wheels are coming in

The Netherlands is the country that will host the penultimate race weekend for the W Series challengers.

WhereTT Circuit Assen, The Netherlands
When19th-20th July 2019
Race start16:10 local, 15:10 BST
Key factIts one-off 2007 Champ Car race was won by the late Justin Wilson
Where can I buy tickets?Head to the DTM website here

Friday 19th July

09:4010:25W SeriesFree Practice 1
14:2015:05DTMFree Practice 1
15:0515:10DTMPractice Starts
16:1016:55W SeriesFree Practice 2
17:1017:40DTMFree Practice 2
17:4017:45DTMPractice Starts

Saturday 20th July

08:2508:50W SeriesQualifying
09:5010:10DTMQualifying for Race 1
11:5011:55DTMInformation Laps
12:0012:15DTMStarting Grid Presentation
12:3013:28DTMRace 1
13:40DTMPodium Ceremony
15:1015:43W SeriesRace

How to watch W Series

Channel 4

Saturday 20th May
Race14:45 – 16:00 BST

As it name suggests the TT Circuit Assen is closely associated with two-wheeled motorsport, but the Dutch venue has also hosted car racing over the decades, including most famously Champ Car in 2007. The track also has ambitions to host an F1 race in the future, and is currently vying with Zandvoort for the right to revive the Dutch GP.

Bike racing was first held on a 28km course laid out over public roads between local villages around Assen in the 1920s. A much shorter road course was constructed in 1955, which was shortened and rebuilt in 2006.

The original road course was still in use when the Dutch TT was included in the inaugural two-wheeled World Championship in 1949, and the event has remained at the heart of the schedule ever since. All the big names have raced and won there, with Valentino Rossi logging eight victories in the headline race.

The one-off 2007 Champ Car race, won by the late Justin Wilson, was the biggest car event that the circuit has hosted to date. The Super League series, which featured cars similar in performance to Indy machines, ran at Assen in both 2010 and 2011. Many German-based series have visited in recent years, and in 2019 the DTM will hold its Dutch round at the
4.5km track.

Although high profile single-seater series have been rare at Assen several current F1 drivers have sampled the track in Formula Renault, including Valtteri Bottas, Kevin Magnussen, Carlos Sainz, Danill Kvyat and Lando Norris.

For the latest news, updates and information from W Series, follow our official social media channels.