Track Length
Saturday | Free Practice 1
Saturday | Free Practice 2
Sunday | Qualifying
Sunday | Race

Home turf for the season finale

The third and final former Grand Prix circuit on the 2019 W Series schedule, Brands Hatch has long been one of the UK’s two major motor sporting venues.

WhereBrands Hatch Circuit, United Kingdom
When10th-11th August 2019
Race start16:00 BST
Key factThe Desire Wilson stand is named after the first – and, so far, only – woman to win a Formula 1 race (non-Championship F1 race)
Where can I buy tickets?Head to the Brands Hatch website here

Saturday 10th August

09:0009:45DTMFree Practice
09:4509:50DTMPractice Starts
10:0010:35W SeriesFree Practice 1
10:5011:10DTMQualifying for Race 1
12:5012:55DTMInformation Laps
13:0013:15DTMStarting Grid Presentation
13:3014:28DTMRace 1
14:40DTMRace 1
15:4016:15W SeriesFree Practice 2

Sunday 11th August

10:0010:20DTMQualifying for Race 2
11:2511:50W SeriesQualifying
12:5012:55DTMInformation Laps
13:0013:15DTMStarting Grid Presentation
13:3014:28DTMRace 2
14:40DTMPodium Ceremony
16:0016:33W SeriesRace

How to watch W Series

Channel 4

Saturday 10th August
Race14:45 – 16:00 BST

Originally a short grass track for bike racing that took advantage of a natural bowl in the Kentish countryside, it was given an asphalt surface and opened for car racing in 1950. The track soon became a popular venue for domestic racing and became known internationally after the Grand Prix loop was added in 1960, creating the basic outline that with modifications is still familiar today. Corners such as Paddock Bend, Druids and Clearways are famous worldwide.

The track first played host to the British GP in 1964, and subsequently alternated with Silverstone, taking the even numbered years – although extra races under the European GP name were held in 1983 and 1985. Many classic races were held, and the list of winners includes greats such as Jim Clark, Jochen Rindt, Emerson Fittipaldi, Niki Lauda, Nelson Piquet and Nigel Mansell. However, after 1986 Bernie Ecclestone opted to focus on Silverstone as the permanent venue for F1 in the UK, and Brands slipped off the calendar.

The track regularly held rounds of the World Sportscar Championship between 1967 and 1989, while others to appear include IndyCar/Champ Car (in 1978 and again in 2003), F2, F3000 and A1 GP. The DTM has been a regular visitor since 1986.

Brands Hatch has seen both the first victory in an F1 race and the first British F3 win achieved by women drivers – two significant achievements that were separated by 38 years.

More women have participated in F1 events at Brands than any other venue. Lella Lombardi, Divina Galica and Desire Wilson all had close associations with the track, largely due to the support of circuit bosses John and Angela Webb, who played a role in promoting their careers.

The track remains a staple of the British racing scene, and many young drivers have raced there as they have worked their way towards F1.

For the latest news, updates and information from W Series, follow our official social media channels.