W Series has been honoured at the 2019 Autosport Awards at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel, on Sunday December 8th.

  • W Series scoops prestigious Autosport Pioneer and Innovation Award
  • Championship winner, Jamie Chadwick shortlisted for Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award
  • Next season’s W Series race-car on display to mark new partnership with major new sponsor ROKiT

In front of a sell-out audience of motorsport’s glitterati, including leading figures from Formula 1, Formula E, WEC, DTM and MotoGP, Catherine Bond Muir, W Series’ CEO, collected on behalf of W Series, a special Autosport Award for Pioneering and Innovation, and W Series 2019 champion, Jamie Chadwick, was a finalist for the Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Young Driver of the Year Award.

These awards came after W Series’ successful debut season which comprised six races in partnership with the DTM platform, at European circuits Hockenheim (Germany), Zolder (Belgium), Misano (Italy), Norisring (Germany), Assen (Netherlands) and Brands Hatch (UK).

“This is a stunning night for W Series,” said Catherine Bond Muir. “And it caps the most incredible first year for us, our drivers and our business partners. But even though we’re celebrating tonight, we remain firmly committed to our mission to increase the number of women in the sport that we all love – and awards such as these make us more and more determined to succeed.”

W Series’ success at the Autosport Awards followed the earlier announcement of a major multi-year sponsorship deal with global telecom and innovation company, ROKiT – the first major partnership agreement since W Series was launched in October 2018.

To mark this ground-breaking partnership, W Series displayed a 2020 race car with special ROKiT celebration livery at the Autosport Awards. The full W Series race livery, also with ROKiT branding, will be revealed before the start of the 2020 season, which will kick off in St Petersburg, Russia, on May 29th.

Just three days before W Series was honoured at the Autosport Awards on Sunday December 8th, the UK’s Guild of Motoring Writers rewarded W Series for its contribution to the automotive industry, and awarded Jamie Chadwick the 2019 Driver of the Year trophy.