• New Fox Asia partnership adds 16 territories across Asia including China, Indonesia and the Philippines
  • In Australia, SBS will support race coverage and in New Zealand, Sky NZ will broadcast live races and highlights
  • In sub-Saharan Africa, W Series will be available in 17 territories including Nigeria, Ethiopia, Kenya and South Africa

W Series has signed new broadcast deals to bring racing coverage to more than 30 territories across Asia and Africa ahead of the season-opener at Hockenheim, Germany, on May 4.

Fox Sports Asia will broadcast all W Series races on pay-tv channels across 16 territories in Asia, including China, South Korea, Indonesia, Philippines, Hong Kong, Thailand, Vietnam, Cambodia and Singapore. 

In Oceania, SBS in Australia will broadcast races on a free-to-air basis via app and on-line, and in New Zealand, Sky NZ will broadcast races and highlights.

Across sub-Saharan Africa, free-to-air and mobile coverage will extend to 17 territories including Nigeria, Ethiopia, Botswana, Kenya, Ghana, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zimbabwe. 

“History will be made on May 4, when 18 of the world’s fastest female drivers line up on the grid,” said Catherine Bond Muir, CEO of W Series. ”So it’s perhaps not surprising that so many fans around the world want to be a part of that, and that broadcasters are responding.” 

Earlier this month, UK broadcaster, Channel 4, announced plans to screen all six W Series races live and in HD on their free-to-air terrestrial channel.  This was followed by news that NENT Group would broadcast full W Series coverage across the Nordic region – Sweden, Finland, Denmark and Norway.

The season starts at Hockenheim, Germany on May 4 and finishes at Brands Hatch on August 11 2019.